Facing the Kiss of God


Morgan Weistling says of his best-selling painting "Kissing the Face of God": 


This painting was first inspired by a song that I heard one day. I started to contemplate the awesome privilege that Mary was given, being able to hold God in her arms, but also keeping in mind that He was still her baby. This cute little child whom she bore was also God in the flesh. And yet, she cuddled and kissed Him, just as all mothers do with their babies. This thought propelled me right into this painting which I wanted to be a very human representation of divinity. My prayer is that the viewer will be struck, as I am, with the amazing way that God chose to send His Son into this world–in pure humility.

— Here’s my view of the work under a new light: I give it the title "Facing the Kiss of God" for two reasons. 
1) When you kiss someone, it is because that person attracts you into doing so. 
2) If God be must any one of the two sexes separate, God is a woman. 

This should also shed light on the subliminal messages within all works of art – and within all titles and subheadings. 
Watch out for those newspaper headings… 

About clasgtr

Ever have an idea or gut feeling, which you feel may have been mediated, for which there is no proof yet you feel nevertheless is valid and important enough to share? I put these down on blog to rid myself of them - it is a question of freedom of speech, and freedom of thought, and freedom from religious persecution. If anyone should feel offended, please be free to leave my blog.
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

what's on your mind:

